Current Executive Councils

A brief history

With the rapid development of countries in the Asian and neighboring region in recent decades,infrastructure development is at the hub of economic and engineering activities. Co-operation between these countries particularly in the development and construction sectors is vital. These involve the sharing of expertise and experiences with concrete which is the single most common material used in construction. As a result, the first gathering of the heads and representatives of concrete institutes in Asia under the name of “Asian Concrete Forum” was organized in Sapporo in July 2001, hosted by the Japan Concrete Institute.

Asian Concrete Forum, Sapporo, July 2001

In October 2002, the 2nd ACF was held in Seoul hosted by the Korea Concrete Institute followed by the 3rd hosted by the Indian Concrete Institute in Pune in September 2003. At the Pune’s meeting, the establishment of Asian Concrete Federation was agreed by consensus among all delegates attending that meeting.


To promote understanding of concrete structures and provide services to the

  • Initiation and support of international collaborative activities for development of research and technology relating to various aspects of concrete and concrete structures;
  • Dissemination of useful information on concrete and concrete structures by way of publications, conferences, symposia, workshops and/or seminars;
  • Promotion of updating and revising concrete codes/standards on structural design, materials, construction and maintenance through development of new knowledge to meet the needs of the changing time;
  • Interaction with members and keeping them aware of the activities of the Federation.

Organizational Structure

ACF Constitution

ACF Byelaws

Current Executive Council (2019-2020)

President Hiroshi Yokota
Japan Concrete Institute
Hokkaido University
Vice-President (Policy) Caijun Shi
Hunan University
Vice-President (Technical) Somnuk Tangtermsirikul
Thailand Concrete Association
Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology
Vice-President (Publication) Yin-Wen Chan
Taiwan Concrete Institute
Taiwan National University
Treasurer Jae-suk Ryou
Korea Concrete Institute
Hanyang University
Elected Members David Millar
Concrete Institute of Australia
Vivek Naik
Indian Concrete Institute
Narantuya Batmunkh
Mongolian Concrete Association
Mongolian University of Science and Technology
Vyatcheslav R Falikman
Association for Structural Concrete (Russia)
Le Trung Thanh
Vietnam Concrete Association
Vietnam Institute for Building Materials
Ex-officio member Dai Jian-Guo
Chairman, ACF Technical Board
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Editor-in-Chief of Journal Myoungsu (James) Shin
Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST)
Immediate Past President Manyop Han
Korea Concrete Institute
Ajou University